Look Out

By chrisf

Sweet Violet

I spent yesterday afternoon finishing off mulching the back garden, using seven bags of soil improver. Lifting the first one did my back in a bit, so I am pottering around (including chores) and hopefully resting it today. I hadn’t touched the garden in a while, so the exercise gave me an opportunity to see what’s flowering, and this morning I took a few photos. These include uninvited guests including primroses and sweet violets, so the latter is today’s image.

The last few years I’ve tried to get the garden looking as good as I can. With us having to shield and not going away on long trips I’ve wanted J to really enjoy sitting out in the garden and being surrounded by flowering plants. This year, a combination of being busy on all sorts of things and horrible weather has meant that I haven’t really got going yet, and with what I need and want to do over coming months I may have to take a different approach to the garden. On the other hand I find gardening - when I don’t pull my back - therapeutic, so we’ll see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.