Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

The Louvre

(5/4/24)

I am so behind here on Blipfoto and in general with looking at pictures I have taken during my cousin's visit. I need to come back and post a couple of "extras" of the day here.

We left home on time, stopping briefly at the garage to have the oil levels etc checked. All was good there, so we picked up my cousin and her son and dashed down to Abu Dhabi. I had forgotten it was Palm Sunday when I committed to this trip, so we wanted to be there as early as possible to be home in time for the evening service.

I hadn't realised how close the Abrahamic Family House was to the Louvre, so there will be an attempt to return to this fascinating area that the Abu Dhabi government are creating. It is informally called the Museum District, with construction of the Guggenheim and Zayed National Museums well underway. There is lots more to come.

I guess loads of other people had the same idea as us to visit the Louvre on Palm Sunday. The place of heaving, but it wasn't as bad as our first visit, which was on World Museum Day. We took our time going through all the halls. I was so impressed with young Simon pulling his phone out to take pictures of the exhibits that he found interesting!

We stopped for lunch in the Museum restaurant and then went to the special Cartier exhibition. I didn't think I'd be interested in it, but it was fascinating to see that the inspiration for some of their designs is from Islamic art and motifs. There you go.

The drive home was easy as it was overcast. It was good not to have the sun beating down on us in fact, we had a few drops of rain while we tried to have a cup of tea at the Last Exit. Sarah wanted to visit my Dad's grave, so we stopped at the cemetery. I can't believe how far out of town it is. It was super to have an hour before heading out to the Palm Sunday service. It's been a long but good day. :))

PS. A kind visitor took the group photo of us all (after we took pictures of his group!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.