The Pensioner

By Pensioner

The Hungry Caterpillar

More rain and wind and a small boy to entertain. I took him off to Leith Library - and we were there at 9:15. It doesn’t open till 10am. Lazy gits. Googling furiously I find that Joy Tots opens at 11am, as does the Wee Play Hub at Ocean Terminal but the Wonder World Soft Play at the Bottom of Leith Walk is open, it says. Off we trot. Of course, when we get there it’s not. At least we can wait indoors out the rain. At ten a young lassie opens up and lets in a stream of bedraggled grandparents and infants. £13.50 for two measly hours!* And that’s with me going free, as a spectator. I hope they pay you well, sez I. They do nutt, she replies, making it clear that they really really do not. 
But the wee lad enjoyed his play, I do think, and we got back to the daughter’s for reading, lunch together, and a long nap before I trolleyed him round Asda. 
Later, out through the rain sodden world to the Diggers. MrW is off to NYC and breaks radio silence to us over Newfoundland. Apparently he’s taking part in Tartan Week. I imagine a see you Jimmy hat would suit him well.



* mind you, any longer and you’d top yourself

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.