horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Ducklings!

First off, yesterday's crabby back blip.

Out for a wander at lunchtime, aren't Mondays great? Oh that's right, no, they're not. 10 to 9 I was sat at my desk, I hear the footsteps of the boss come along the corridor (strange enough, he's normally not in till about 10.30), he arrives at my door, and before I've turned round barks 'Weekly Report!', and walks off again. That's it. No 'please' or 'if you've got time'. And the thing is, I know for a fact he hardly reads any of my weekly report anyway (given questions I always get asked during the week which have been covered in great detail within the report).

I've been on the phone to recruitment agents again today, I've really had quite enough of being treated like I'm 9 years old again *stomps foot, sticks out bottom lip*

And if I may continue a whinge about the roadworks in our street... On Friday we got home to a card through the door telling us that Scotia Gas Networks 'need access to your property' (not, 'would like access please', just 'need') on Monday 29th.

Given it was 4.30pm on a Friday there were already no workmen about (the card said to speak to the workmen about any queries). It being Friday neither of us had time to take the day off work (nor the days available having just come back!), and Mel's dad can't house-sit till Tuesday. The card also had space for the deliverer to insert the name of the Project Manager, together with a contact phone number. Which were both left blank. The back of the card had a general enquiries phone number. So I called that on Saturday morning, only to be told that the department that deals with that is only open Monday to Friday working hours.

So let's recap. A card has been delivered telling us access is needed the next working day, with no way for us to contact anyone at all to let them know that isn't possible. They might as well have just knocked on the door this morning without having delivered a card. So anyway, I thought, I'll speak to a workman on Monday morning. Except they hadn't turned up by the time we went to work (at 8.20am, the card having said access would be needed from 8am)...

Seriously, the first utility company, or public service company, that actually manages to provide a good and sensible public service is going to make a killing.

Grrrrrrr!

p.s. boss isn't in the office tomorrow, yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.