There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Goldfinch / High Water Mark / Greatest of These

What a great start to the day! When I opened the bedroom window curtains, I noticed some small yellow birds. Soon there were about a dozen of them just outside the window, eating the blooms on the vegetation next to our deck. I ran for the camera, and spent 15 minutes happily taking pictures.

There was one bird that seemed extra-floofy. It took a long, leisurely bath in a spot where I had a clear view, and so there are MANY pictures in my photo set of this fluffy fellow I'm featuring as picture #1. This is an American goldfinch, Spinus tristis.

It almost looked like it was wearing a fur coat, and feeling awkward about the whole darn episode. It is also true that the bird called to mind Rod Stewart, in his golden-locked heyday. Do blondes REALLY have more fun?

Around mid-day, my husband and I drove to Port Matilda to grab hoagies for our lunch, ate them in the parking lot, and then headed to Soaring Eagle Wetland to check out how high Bald Eagle Creek was.

We walked the flat little paved trail to the accessible fishing dock and down along the water line. Already, the waters have receded significantly, though they are still quite robust. The detritus line at the fishing dock (see the extra) indicates that the water crested well above the dock itself, even above the sign. 

I wish I could have been here to see that! However, with the number of roads that were closed during the height of the flooding (which included parts of route 550, which is a road we take to get ANYWHERE), we would most likely have never even been able to make the few-miles trip to here.

I walked down along the creek, marveled at the power of the waters. It is impressive what water - LOTS of water - can do. I found a heart-shaped stone (see extra picture) along the creek bed, and photographed it, thinking - All you need is love.

I know it's a small thing, but my general approach in nature is to NO touchie the critters (except for the occasional newt rescue) and to leave things where I found them. Except for bones. When it comes to discovered bones, ALL BETS ARE OFF!!

So all I took was a picture. Which is all I need, really; that, and memory. And then I left the heart-shaped rock right where I found it, thinking it might serve as encouragement to some future visitor to these shores.

Oh, and yes, sometimes it DOES feel as though the Universe just might be sending you a message. And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. 1 Cor.13:13. <3

And now, here are some songs. First, for my blonde, ridiculously dressed American goldfinch, I've got Rod Stewart, with Da Ya Think I'm Sexy, from the album Blondes Have More Fun. Second, for my high water line, I've got Dire Straits, with Down to the Waterline. In an odd coincidence, the radio station was playing songs with Heart in the title on this evening. There were two really great ones, and I couldn't decide. So for my heart-shaped rock in the extras, I've got Rush, with Closer to the Heart,  as well as Yes, with Owner of a Lonely Heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.