A day in the life

By Shelling

Ribes

Last autumn I got the last plant of a Ribes rubrum, redcurrants, from the plantation close by. They were dubious about charging me anything because since it was the last they had means it was the one nobody wanted. I could see that it had some live bits so i let them charge me next to nothing for it. It payed back by being the first thing in my garden that almost has leaves and looks strong and healthy.

We've had a real spring day today with sun most of the day and 15 degrees in the shade, tomorrow we're expecting almost 20. That will be a change, a week ago we had the coldest april days for as long as they've measured temperatures, if I understood it correctly, and I had to put the heating back on. It's so wonderful to stroll about in the garden with my shirt-sleeves rolled up.

Thank you for the likings I had for starting the axe-shaft yesterday, it's my first ever and I was quite pleased with it, here's the finished result, oiled and everything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.