Beewriter

By Beewriter

Amorous Amphibians

That is the toads, not me lol.

April, Laura and I went up to Redbrook early this morning, up on Saddleworth Moor. The sun was trying to make an appearance so we were really pleased as we parked up. It was when we tried to get out of the car we realised how windy it was. I could barely open the door, it was so powerful. We staggered along the path as the wind pummelled us. There were lots of toads there…the poor females all had a lazy male clinging to their backs hitching a ride to the spawning ponds.

It was a challenge getting undressed and keeping hold of clothes so that they didn’t blow away. The water was cold and the wind whipped spray in our faces…I absolutely loved it. It was April’s second wild dip and she was in longer than last time, it was a quick swim this time rather than just a dip. I stayed in for about twenty minutes at the most as it was probably only 8°. I’m considering going up again in the morning but I’ll have to see if Storm Kathleen abates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.