Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Farmers' Market

For the first Saturday morning in two months, the weather was promising. There was frost on the roof this morning, but the sun was out and it warmed up nicely so we went with Dana to see what we could find.(Jim is visiting his mother in Indiana.) 

My photo is the fellow who brings all sorts of sculptures made from old metal items of all sorts. He seems particularly fond of kinetic sculptures and I do believe the slowly turning item at the top of the top shot is made from two old bedpans! I liked the octopus, too.(bottom right). 

John got some herb starts (basil, dill and thyme) which I'd like to plant in a pot to keep it under control. 

I had a sinfully thick and rich hot chocolate from the coffee stand, then chatted with Leigh, the woman with the pots and jewelry from Mata Ortiz. I bought another geometric design pot and a rustic handmade silver necklace that looks good with a sweatshirt! A Santa.Claus look-alike presided over a table of jewelry which two little girls eyed longingly. 

By the time we got home, the neighborhood rang with the sound of movers, blowers and chippers. The guys across the street are having a lot of tree work done behind their house on the creek. We are surrounded by open fields that need mowing to comply with fire department rules and regs. With all the rain we've had this spring, I think it is safe to say that we'll have to mow twice this year

The clouds are now starting to spill over the hills surrounding us and I suspect it may rain again this evening. Some neighbors are coming over to share a pot of beans and a salad made from the very healthy looking lettuces from the garden.

I rode over the Hatcher pass in Alaska on the Peloton today and now, after not sleeping well last night, I can barely keep my eyes open! I think it's naptime to be followed by wine time which is looking much more appealing these days....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.