fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Farleton Knott

If you approach junction 36 of the M6 from the south, then just as you turn onto the sliproad that leads off the motorway, there is a huge hill looming up on your right. That is Farleton Knott. 

And in all the years I've lived around here, I've never been up it, although I have a run that goes through Clawthorpe up to Hutton Roof that passes the start of the path that leads out to the top of the Knott. 

Today though, we - Abi, Milly, Hannah, Charlie, and I - finally went on a family visit. We parked up near the start of the path that I mentioned above, and that's already pretty high up, so there's very little that's challenging about the walk: undulations rather than hills. 

But it's quite otherworldly; lots of limestone and only the occasional tree, as you can see from today's Blip. 

We had a great time, walking and chatting, and finding our way around the Knott. Finally, after all those years of looking up, I got to look down on the M6!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.