LesleyAlsford

By LesleyAlsford

Banjo

was given a banjo from my mum today. Its one of two that were handed down to her by my grandmother.   They are said to have belonged to my grandmothers two older brothers who apparently turned down the chance to travel to America with Charlie Chaplin. They then took the banjos with them when they went to fight in the first world war.  I need to find out a little more about what happened to them but I assume they died young .
Now debating wether to have a go at playing it. One of the banjos is a 'mandolin banjo' and the other a 'picollo ' but not sure which one this is. 
My mum got them both repaired a few years back and interestingly took them back to the company of the original maker over 100 years after their purchase. I dont think they were still under warranty though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.