PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Star

Yes, it’s a bit of stitching again, but then I don’t have all those lovely flowers that others have and anyway - this is what I’m doing at the moment. And loving the light with which to work.

Although I know about quilting, have made in the past lots of samples and have admired the quilts others have made, I am not a quilter. I have not the patience, and most definitely not the skill, to make the beautiful quilts I see at shows . . . and on Blip, there are some amazing quilters here.

So at the moment I am enjoying a more relaxed approach as Kathryn (link a few days ago) stitches traditional quilt blocks with no measuring and all hand sewn. It’s the way quilts would have been made before sewing machines, before bought fabrics. It is very enjoyable.

Friendship Star
A traditional quilt block originally used in pioneering days to make quilts for women about to set off on a long journey West. Her friends would make blocks and embroider their names in the centre of the stars. So the women would have the comfort of the quilt, and also the memories of their friends, to take with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.