MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Sunday Garden Birds

Kathleen was blowing clouds of pollen off the Christmas tree. Lovely to hear and see our smallest European bird, weighing only 5 grams, a goldcrest, high in its branches. These charming little birds are constantly on the move hunting for invertebrates with soft cuticles like springtails, aphids and spiders.

Nice to spot a song thrush with worms in its beak. Maybe it has young already? 

Blue tits usually nest in our old loo overflow hole but have ignored that this season so far. I spotted one through the laundry room window eyeing up a nest box that my young nephew made for me years ago. It squeezed through the small hole and then reappeared. I grabbed the camera and got some shots as it returned with a beak full of moss. It seemed unsure whether to enter with the nesting material and flew off. When it came back again it had no moss. It's looking at me as if to say, Should I or shouldn't I?

I've added an image to extras of a crow that was carefully selecting a dead twig for its nest.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.