MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Wasp, A Daisy

I told Mishka that we were going to hunt for unusual bugs in the garden. I got orange tip, peacock and comma butterflies and saw my first, beautifully pristine, speckled wood of the season. Plenty of solitary bees enjoying the dandelions and daisies and basking on the young bramble leaves. Nothing unusual about any of that though.

However I did spot an unusual visitor to a patch of daisies on the front lawn. I certainly wasn't expecting a European paper wasp. I think mine is a female as it doesn't have hooked antennae. I first saw these on thistles on the nursery last summer and one visited the ivy in September. They have become resident on the Channel Islands but are not properly established here yet.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.