Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Home

I traveled for over 24 hours before landing in Newark at 6 this morning.  A flight from Durban to Johannesburg and then a 6 hour layover before a 16 hour flight to Newark.  I'm feeling the full effects of jet lag and general fatigue.  Not surprising, but also not pleasant.  I'm going to try to stay up as late as I can tonight (I'll be happy if I can make it to 9) in an effort to jolt myself back into the right time zone.

Phoebe seems to have made a little rebound.  Not sure how long it will last, but we'll take whatever we get.  Hubs said she has not eaten much at all the last few days so when she started showing interest in food today, it was cause for optimism.  And she curled up on my lap for a snooze this afternoon which made me happy and weepy all the the same time.  

Jax accompanied Hubs to pick me up at the airport this morning and completely covered me with kisses when I got in the car.  He's stayed very close to me all day, not letting me out of sight.  Charlie ignored me for the first hour I was home and then wanted to be picked up and carried around.  It's good to be home...

I will start going through my thousands of images from SA tomorrow, a task I know I will enjoy very much.  And I will also probably break out the macro lens to try to get some bee shots while the cherry trees are blooming.  I did try a few shots today but my hands were nowhere near steady enough for macro work.  

I brought home two bars of South African dark chocolate - Hubs and I each had a square and declared it to be delicious.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.