JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Easter Tree

I'm back-blipping nearly a week late - J looked reproachfully at me when I offered to email the edited photos to her for Facebook, and said "Easter was last week". We did put our Easter tree together last weekend, with hazel twigs from the garden with their tiny leaf buds just unfurling, my mum's favourite vase, and eggs painted long ago as well as the needle felted bluetit and goldfinch M has helped J to make this year. It's still standing on our dining table, in the sun from the window, and the little, pleated leaves are opening and brightening. This year, Easter coincided with the start of British Summer Time and the nicest weather we've had all year, and the increased light has convinced me that spring is truly here, lightening my mood and brightening our home.

I've finally been sowing seeds too, far later than usual: tomatoes, aubergines, cucumbers, cauliflowers and cabbages, lettuces, spinach and beetroot, with many more to follow. I hope they will grow more quickly in the longer, warmer days, compensating somewhat for my delayed start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.