JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Everywhere, primroses

Unusually, I had to drag myself out for a walk - the weather was not promising, and I wasn't really in the mood. I told myself I needed the exercise, and as I walked ,the light brightened and the sun occasionally broke through the clouds. Along the Old Road there are countless flowers in the verges and on the banks below the front gardens which sit high above the road. It seems to be a particularly good year for primroses: large clumps are in bloom all around the village, on banks and verges, in gardens and graveyards, and in cracks between steps or, as here, the bricks in walls. This is a lovely old retaining wall below a house perhaps a century old: I like its curve of yellowish tinged bricks and its range of vegetation, and thought its warmth toned well with the primroses. 

My mood improved further when I found the field path across the Exted valley dry enough to walk in boots. The fast-moving clouds created constantly shifting patterns of light on the hillside, which I tried to capture in the extra, with a generous sprinkling of purple deadnettle invading the crop in the foreground. I also noted with some pleasure that this year the path, re-trodden after ploughing and sowing, has acquired a couple of little wiggles as it threads its way between what I assume to be winter wheat.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.