JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Cherry Blossom

J loves cherry blossom, and I had mentally "bookmarked" this tree to walk past with her, so when she agreed to a bit of late afternoon fresh air, it was our starting point. Her April art challenge is to make a study of three plants/flowers growing now, recording them in any medium and learning about them - a nice, easy one for us, surrounded as we are with a large garden full of potential subjects (mainly weeds!) and lanes and pavements bordered with all kinds of wild flowers. We just looked, for the most part, making note of possibilities, which gave a useful focus to our circuit round the village. 

I also cleared out two huge files of teaching resources: I won't now be returning to teaching, much of the material (for A level French) was topical and is now outdated, and I need the space. I can't help being a bit sad: so many nice resources, so much time and work creating them, and it was one of my favourite parts of my work so there are some good memories. It feels quite liberating though, to stack up paper for recycling and a pile of filing wallets for re-use, and to start creating a home on the shelves for material relating to the life I now live. I can't throw myself into this as fully as I'd like, I have to snatch bits of time between other things, but I hope photos may be shared sometime in the next few months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.