JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Crossroads

After lunch I took a mouse for a walk up a hillside path at the far end of the village. It was a large yellow necked field mouse, much larger than the little dark brown mice we normally catch but like the one that looked at me from my fabric drawer a few weeks ago and the one (perhaps the same one) we last caught. During the walk, it wriggled around in its plastic trap, perhaps unsettled by the wind blowing the bag as well as by its traumatic situation. I released it close to the top of the hill and beside a small wood, in a hollow full of grass, plants and brambles. It looked around for a second, then scuttled into the undergrowth. 

It was too inconvenient to carry a camera as well as the mouse's bag, so I took only a few phone photos. My recently acquired phone can take RAW files as well as jpegs, so I can download and edit them on my computer; but this was edited in Google photos, which works quite well for a range of basic adjustments. I'm still not very adept at framing with my fingers, but I'm enjoying the convenience of this additional camera and am quite impressed with its capabilities.

For our Thursday movie, J and I watched "Name me Lawan", a documentary about a deaf boy from Kurdistan, unable to communicate with anyone, whose family came to the UK from Iraq to seek asylum. We are always interested to watch films featuring deaf people and sign language, and J enjoyed seeing how Lawan thrived and developed excellent signed communication at the Royal School for the Deaf in Derby. First his brother then other family members started learning to sign with him, but their struggle to remain in the UK, supported by the school and local community, had only gained them a temporary reprieve by the end of the film. It's available in the UK on Channel 4. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.