A voice from beyond

On this disk is a recording of my Grandad and his best friend Dave (Biddo) doing karaoke. I have acquired a copy of it after many years. It doesn't make me cry like it used to...just belly laugh at the sheer awfulness of my Grandad singing!

We have been at my Nans, helping my mum with the clearance. Physically knackered. Not quite the emotional state I was yesterday.

My Aunty and my cousin swung past our house to collect James at teatime to bring him over. They listened to this on the way. Combined with seeing my Nans house being radically overhauled and hearing his beloved Great Grandad doing karaoke, poor James was in a bit of a state and spent a while with his head buried against me, crying his little heart out.

I forget, in my day to day, that I am not the only person who is feeling this. I am often criticised about overindulging/spoiling James. oftentimes though, it becomes apparent that I am not fully aware of how he is feeling. Which probably makes me a bad parent. Spoiling him AND not being sensitive too him. Paradoxical poor parenting.

That has to be a phenomena at can be written about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.