There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Moose Finds Ribcage in Middle of the Road!

With sunshine on tap for the day, my husband and I decided to go hiking in Moshannon State Forest, above Black Moshannon State Park. We found conditions in the woods extremely wet, and in fact, rivulets of water were running right down the graveled road.

As we pulled the car into our parking spot, I had a thought: there will be bones today, I just know it! As though he were reading my mind, my husband suggested: "I think you will find some bones today."

And boy, were we both right! We walked down the graveled road and the Moose let out a little YELP! Why, what do we have here? We have a RIBCAGE in the middle of the road!

Now, the Moose has earned himself a couple of nicknames over the time we've had him. We called him Mossy Paws after he came home from a backwoods adventure smelling of the green, shaggy moss he loves so much to play in. 

Then he showed some brand new talents: floating on a makeshift boat, casting out evil spirits in our flooded backyard; I'm not even sure WHAT moniker to give him for that, other than hero. Do we need to add to that now: Bone Finder???? Meet Mossy Paws the Bone Finder.

Well, that was very strange indeed. Did you ever go walking down a trail and just . . . walk out of your bones? I think not! It's never happened to me and I don't expect it to. I'm pretty attached to my bones.

From there, we just shook our heads and continued on. Did we remove the bones? No! They were far too large and icky to take along home, and they didn't have quite the same savoir faire as the skulls I've already got. So there!

We spent the remainder of the afternoon sitting in our chairs by the creek, watching the world go by. The water was running a bit high, as you might imagine, after all the recent rain. The creek reflected the sunshine, and tiny bubbles floated past. Merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily, life is but a dream.

I had two songs on my mind so here are both of them. First is the Pretenders, with Middle of the Road. And second, I could hear Roger Daltrey singing something about a guy with a snake the size of a sewer pipe living in his ribcage; since it's the only song I know that mentions ribcages, here it is: the Who, with Athena.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.