There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

A Day Without Night, A Night Without Day

And another evil Bishop's curse is now broken somewhere in North America. . . .


This is a photo of Monday's big solar eclipse, as viewed from Stormstown, PA, around 2:50 p.m. It rained around noon, then brightened up around 1. By 2, it was cloudy and drizzly again. My husband sat on the porch. I sat in our driveway in a chair and kept an eye to the skies. The neighbor cat, LGK, kept us company.

The clouds moved out long enough for me to get a couple of shots. Around 3, I saw the sun as just a thin sliver, but I didn't get a shot of that. I wished for clearing for the best part of the show. 

However, during the totality part (around 3:23 p.m.), I looked up and felt wetness - my husband said - IS THAT SLEET? Turns out it was RAINING ON MY FACE. Also, the cat sitting beside me whimpered a little during the event, but I told him everything would be all right.

You know I am a rain lover but I did not wish for the best part of the show to get rained out! Then the clouds moved in, and it rained off and on for the next 45 minutes or so. By 5 p.m., we had bright sunshine again. Go figure.

Northwestern Pennsylvania, around Erie, was in the path of totality. I read that hundreds of thousands of people went there to see it, and that the roads out of there were quite crowded for hours after.

A win: When totality hit, our one local radio station played the entire Pink Floyd album, Dark Side of the Moon.





The title of this Blip references the film Ladyhawke. In the story, two lovers cursed by an evil Bishop are separated: Navarre is a wolf by night and a man by day. Isabeau is a woman by night and a hawk by day. They are reunited and face down the Bishop on "a day without a night, a night without a day" -- which is to say, during a solar eclipse -- and the curse is broken!


Bonus links:
Another eclipse.
Another Isabeau.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.