Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Orange tip

Today I meant to go to the butterfly reserve but when I left the house it seemed a bit grey and windy for butterflies so I went to Clausentum Fen instead to look at the state of the wild garlic.  Well I can report that although there's a great swathe of it, as always, the flowers aren't really there yet, but other wild flowers were out in profusion: marsh marigolds, red campion, English bluebells, ditto Spanish (in blue, pink and white), green alkanet, forget-me-nots, etc, etc.  There were also butterflies: brimstones, peacocks, speckled woods and two of these irresistible orange tips.  I shouldn't have been surprised - though a very small place it is richly diverse and wonderfully warm and sheltered.  And just before I arrived the sun came out and stayed out  What could be better?

So here is a male orange tip feeding from a dandelion (with freindly bee above).  I'm pleased.  I got no shots of orange tips last year, they are early butterflies and not arround for long.

Nothing else of note for me today.  Apart from blips I often wonder what I do with my days.  Scuffle around being domestic I suppose.

Hope your day's gone well  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.