TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

The total eclipse sounds like the perfect excuse

Slept badly but still managed to get up to start work. Ottawacker Jr is off school today in what is perhaps the most outlandish reason yet. And it is not even his fault: the school closed down for the day because of the solar eclipse. Fantastic reason. I’m using it for the next week. Why have you missed that deadline? The solar eclipse. Your payment for XXX is late… don’t blame me, blame the solar eclipse.
 
I suppose  there is at least some logic to it: the school reckoned that as the eclipse was happening around the end of the school day, they couldn’t guarantee the children wouldn’t be looking at it on their way home. We’ve had myriad warnings about the danger of looking at the eclipse, so I reckon… at a push… Anyway, not a lot you can do.
 
One of my favourite things about the solar eclipse so far is that the usual evangelical loons are saying it is going to be the Rapture. I really, really hope it is – because come Tuesday, things could be a lot, lot better for the rest of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.