secret garden

By freespiral

Knocknataggart

It was lashing and blowing a hoolie when my alarm went off at 5.15am! Yes that is correct for  the annual birdwatch survey is upon me again. The forecast promised good things though and I hoped it was true. I met up with my friend Ginny in the parking area and we drove gaily off to Knocknataggart, somewhere east of Skibbereen. The rain had stopped, the sun was out but - it was perishing! We were lusting after a hot coffee and croissant pretty much as soon as we started. Nonetheless, armed with the Merlin app, we sallied forth. I think I am at least a week, possibly two, earlier than usual and the birds were different. We saw or heard the following species (and this is just for my information, you don't have to read through):
blackbird
blue tit
bullfinch
buzzard
chaffinch
chiffchaff
dunnock
herring gull
hooded crow
house sparrow
goldcrest
goldfinch
great tit
jackdaw
lesser black backed gull
magpie
meadow pipit
pheasant
raven
robin
rook
sparrowhawk
song thrush
starling
willow warbler
wood pigeon
wren
The ravens and birds of prey were especially exciting, and unusual, but there were no swallows yet (though a house martin has arrived here) and no pied wagtails.
We later fell into Lidl for some croissants and then leapt into O Neills for large coffees. Great to have a catch up though for I haven't seen Ginny since before Christmas as they nip off to Spain for the winter.
The weather has been wonderful, crisp and clear - more gardening. We went for a joint stroll around the estate at 4,30ish and impulsively decided to see if we could knock over one of our green compost bins (food waste). We did and then got barrowing. Hard work but good rich wormy compost, I think I've said this before but it's astonishing how much plastic and forks inadvertently finds its way in - and tea bags do not compost! 
An early night beckons!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.