The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Complexities of the Elizabeth Line

I might go to London on Friday. S is having tooth implants, so I may collect him afterwards, as he intended to travel back to Stroud the same day after surgery. He is scared. 

S and I thought I could go to Reading, hop on the newish Elizabeth line, and get off at Stratford. Now it seems that it may not be that easy! Apparently if I add my over60s railcard to my Oyster (card), I can then legitimately do it, as long as I change at Whitechapel. This saves changing at Paddington. I may try, or I may just get off at Paddington and try the new interchange there. I do not want penalty charges because I've done something wrong....I think it's a good idea to look for my Oyster, come what may. 

Other observations: I'm trying to get an agency cleaner for an elderly client. I'd forgotten that there were so many air B n Bs. Most cleaners only do those, or end of tenancy lets. I may go back to the tried and trusted method of asking around at the surgery. I'm very aware of rudeness. One man didn't even turn down the TV when I spoke to him (it was blaring away) and said, "what exactly is it that you WANT?" before I'd even introduced myself; another sighed audibly when I said I didn't have the client's postcode to hand. If they talk to a 6O-year-old like that, their cleaners may not be good with a housebound 85-year old.

It appears that I am turning into my mother. Please God let me not start getting dementia in 24 years' time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.