This is the day

By wrencottage

Surprise Gift

A few months ago a family started renting the house over the road which had recently been sold.

We met the husband once when he came to collect a parcel which we had taken in for them, but I haven’t seen him again since. I did, however, manage to remember his name when he called this morning, which surprised and pleased him. 

He then proceeded to hand me this tray of patisseries which he said were made by his wife, who is a professional pâtissière. She had made them as a celebration of Eid, the festival which marks the end of Ramadan, and wanted to share them with us. We also saw him taking a tray to another neighbour, so she must have been very busy! 

I was very touched by the gesture, and told him I would be putting a photograph of the gift on the internet and telling people about our kind neighbours. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.