KathyH58

By KathyH58

Muskrat love

This muskrat was having a snack. There was another one having a nap just behind where this one was sitting.

A fine morning at Miners Marsh. Lots of activity and lots of people with cameras. A black scoter has been hanging out at the marsh for a few days, an unusual visitor since they are usually sea birds. There were 4 ring necked ducks there too, they are also unusual for the area at this time of year. Most of them have migrated further north. The tree swallows have returned. The usual occupants were around - Canada geese, ducks, red winged black birds, grackles, cardinals, sparrow and more.

It was not a large funeral that I went to this afternoon, but it was good to see some people that I have not seen for many years. I sat with one woman, she was friends with my sister, and still lives in the area, so she pointed out some people that she knew. At the reception after the service, I got to talk to some of the family. One of the girls is the same age as me, we started school together, but have not seen each other since I left Edmonton in 1986. Her sister also lives in Edmonton. Pat was the first to see me, but she didn't recognize me. I had to tell her who I was. She told me I would have to see if Joan recognizes me. I made my way over to where Joan was standing and spoke to her. She looked at me and said 'Kathy???'. When I said yes, she gave me a hug and she must have hung onto me for almost 5 minutes. She was so happy that I took the time to come to her mother's funeral. When I went over to say good by to her before I left, Joan was talking to another woman. The other woman called me by name, but I had to ask her who she is. She is one of Joan's cousins that lived next door. It was good to see so many people that I haven't seen for years, even if the only time I see them now is at a funeral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.