Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Good News!

I went over to my sister’s for lunch. We had lots to catch up on, so there was much animated chat for a few hours.

Earlier I had WhatsApped her and my nieces and nephew with the good news that my flat is now officially off the market, and the estate agent and solicitors are starting the formal sales process. So, all being well, the flat will belong to a new lady in about two or three months’ time. It’s like a huge pressure being taken off me, even though another sort of pressure is now on me to get two households full of memories completely sorted out, one packed up to move and one redundant and immobile sports car disposed of. Three lives to go through and decide what things to keep - it’s a daunting task, but I’ve spent a whole career of nearly 40 years working to several deadlines a day, so I know I do well under that sort of pressure. I couldn’t summon the motivation to do much of it whilst feeling depressed that the flat wasn’t selling, but now I feel full of purpose.

In some ways, the hardest life to go through will be my own at the flat. So many memories of a huge chunk of it - the last twenty years of my career at the BBC, and a lot of other water under the bridge in my personal life - some happy but some sad or even bad. The flat was ideal for that life, but everything is so very different now. Time to move forward and continue rebuilding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.