Nettenet

By Nettenet

Hereford

After our breakfast we headed into Hereford to sort out admin etc for my aunt.  First we popped into M&S to pick up some tins of biscuits as a small token of thank yous and from there we visited the home she was in to collect her personal belongings.  

Mr C and I were a bit dumbstruck when I received a verbal slap on the wrist for never visiting.  You may recall in my previous post that my mum was not particularly close to her family, apart from one sister who died quite a few years ago, and had visited this sister in the previous home she was in but she had moved to this home before covid and now my mum is also to elderly to visit.  As for myself I hadn’t seen her for 25 years or so.  As Mr C said these people do a great job at caring for your relatives and then I turn up to collect her things and she was quite peeved.  I have to say she was extremely rude but I’m doing all this for mum and it’s my way of helping her.  The manager wasn’t grateful for the biscuits either ;-D

From there I had taken it upon myself to visit the funeral directors to say thank you as I found nothing but care and kindness when I was organising the funeral.  They were very grateful for the biscuit’s.  I also enquired if there was a chance they could collect my aunts husbands ashes held by the court of protection so that they can be scattered together.  He was happy to try and organise that.

From the home we collected around 6 black sacks, one old suitcase and a shopping trolley full of clothes, shoes etc.  We sat in the car and looked for the local recycling centre, booked a time slot and headed straight over there to deposit it all.  We are left with two boxes to bring home and sort through.

Once we had completed all our bits we had the afternoon to explore.  We visited the cathedral and I loved the stained glass window commissioned by the S.A.S to celebrate an anniversary.  We also saw the Mappa Mundi and chained library.

From there we drove to Ledbury and had a wander around the little cobbled streets (extra) before heading back to the pub for dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.