JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Burgeoning

Another sunny morning! J, unusually, proposed a walk, and we repeated much the same route as I took yesterday, along the road, observing the rapid growth of buds, leaves and flowers in the hedgerow, then down to the bottom of the valley. The push back up Duck Street made me feel old though: I tried hard not to stop, but had to pause for breath not far from the top before collapsing onto the bench in the square to recover. I must get back to trying to organise a motor to help her wheelchair up hills. We looked into this last summer, but stalled because of various hurdles which can probably be overcome if I persevere with it. It would make some of our walks a good deal more manageable and perhaps open up more possibilities too. 

The horse chestnut is a relatively young tree in the hedgerow just along the road, and soon the emerging candles will be a wonderful spring rhubarb pink.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.