JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

The bluebell wood

After a day of trying to complete as many chores as I could before J's PA went home, I walked briskly up the hill in my last twenty minutes, challenging myself to get to the top before it was time to turn round. I wasn't quite there when I found the gate into the bluebell wood open. It's a relatively small wood on the hillside, owned by the people - friends of ours - who live opposite it, and every spring they open it for bluebell walks, with a marked path taking visitors from the lane, through the wood, and out onto the hilltop footpath. I didn't have time for that, but it lifted my spirits just to go through the gate and up the first steep incline of the path to this wide, relatively flat area which is always so wonderfully carpeted with bluebells. They even provide a pair of chairs for meditative viewing. The light wasn't good and I only had my phone, but I'll be back with my camera, probably many times in the next couple of weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.