JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Thin pickings

There's not much in the vegetable garden at this time of year, but the rhubarb is now moving into its spring growth spurt. This is the first I've harvested this year, and soon we will have more than we know what to do with. I also picked some good handfuls of chard, which is reviving after its midwinter rest, and removed the cavallo nero plants, from which I salvaged the last, rather scrappy leaves - with a big of trimming they will be fine in soup or P's excellent bulgur with kale. 

I fitted in a few minutes knitting with my coffee, for the first time since I finished J's socks. I've decided I must return to P's scarlet sweater, which I put aside a couple of years ago because I wasn't making much progress. It's too bulky to be convenient to knit in the car, and the stitch pattern, though not really difficult, slows progress further. However, he needs something a little more presentable for non-gardening days, and having bought the yarn and knitted the back and a lot of the front, I feel I have to finish it. 

Later, after J's PA left, I spent an hour supporting her hand over hand with a digital watercolour painting of a cabbage. This will form part of an art challenge which J is working hard to paste together and edit using her switch access. I'm out of practice at drawing with her - her PAs are so much better at it - and her arm was very stiff, but we enjoyed selecting the range of greens and trying to show the veining of the outer leaves and the crinkliness of the cut surface.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.