JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Back in the bluebell wood

I devoted much of the morning - or what's left of it, after getting J up and ready, then sitting luxuriously over my breakfast for a while when her PA arrived to give H hers - to preparing the vegetables I picked yesterday. The cavallo nero and chard were washed and shredded, then bagged for the freezer; and the rhubarb gently stewed with lemon zest, sugar and a bit of ginger into a soft, sweet mixture which is delicious with my thick, mild Bulgarian yoghurt. 

After lunch, I walked up the hill again. This time I could stay a little longer in the bluebell wood, sitting quietly on one of the chairs just soaking up that wonderful expanse of blueness, then wandering round some of the little meandering paths.  The sun broke through the cloud only briefly, but was beautiful while it lasted. It's a wonderful privilege to have this so close to home. I left with a huge smile filling my face, determined to return as many times as possible before the bluebells fade.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.