Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Common Fumitory

Brunch with friends this morning, a short lockdown loop walk locally and then off to Mum's to plant a tree. We chickened out of the staking bit as my brother's friend who is a landscape gardener, said he'd pop round tomorrow and do it for us. Mum was getting quite stressed with it all as she's paid quite a bit for the Amelanchier and wants it to be right. It does look nice, even if it's only just coming into leaf and I'm sure it will be fabulous throughout the year as it has year round interest apparently. 

This little plant was one of a few patches of wildflowers I saw, but I had to look it up as I've never seen it before and didn't know what it was. 
Common Fumitory(or that's what I think it is - please correct me if I'm wrong) is a herbaceous annual flowering plant of the poppy family. Apparently it has had many medicinal uses from arthritis to constipation, and in Britain, used to be used as an eyewash for conjunctivitis. Who knew?! 
Thanks to Miranda for hosting the Wildflower Week challenge again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.