a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Pied Fly Catcher

While out and about trying to get some decent shots of small birds today, I came across a small stream that I needed to cross.  

Stepping across the stream itself was no problem, but when I put my foot down on what looked like solid ground on the other side, it sank in part way up my shin.  Quickly I took my next step hoping that it would find more solid ground.  Unfortunately it didn't, and that foot too sank, if anything even more deeply.

Off balance and still with forward momentum I kept moving forward desperately trying to avoid a fall that would potentially damage the camera and lens, with the result that in a couple more steps I found myself standing still up to my knees in mud, in just my stockinged feet, having by now walked out of the embedded wellies. 

Luckily there was somewhere dry to deposit the camera while I wrestled the boots and myself out of the mud.  I sat down in a dry spot to take stock, and stripped off my socks, laughing to myself at my folly.  The walk back to the car was a tad uncomfortable without socks, but not too unpleasant.  It could all have been a lot worse.

I'd decided to pack spare socks and boots that morning and I also had a pack of recyclable wet wipes in the car so was able to repair most of the damage.  I keep the wet wipes in the car to deal with bird poo - but needed about 10 to deal with my muddy legs.  

Undeterred I set off again and was rewarded, eventually, with the sighting of this pied fly catcher, not a species I've photographed before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.