Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Repairs needed

A bit of a last minute blip, but never mind.

For some time now, my coffee machine has been dispensing coffee not just from the two nozzles, but leaking down the back which has caused the stain in the middle (not to mention wasting coffee).  I've poked it, prodded it, cleaned it and descaled it but to no avail; it still leaked.  Today I bit the bullet and decided I needed to take it apart to find out what was going on.

It's not as simple as it seems.  It's clearly not designed to be taken apart by an amateur as a matter of course, and I am the sort of person who, as a child, loved taking things apart but could rarely put them back together again.  If a little spring popped out during the deconstruction, I knew there was no chance it would ever work again.  I started to remove the door and, you've guessed it, a little spring popped out. Moving boldly on, I got it into pieces and found the problem; the base plate between the two nozzles had cracked so coffee was leaking through.

Getting it back together again was easier than I thought.  It turned out I could work out where the spring came from (and replace it), and after a bit of jiggling I got the whole thing back together.  I've ordered a new door which should arrive in a months time and at around £50 it's a lot cheaper than buying a new coffee machine.  In fact, I reckon it's saved me around £500.  I wonder what I should spend it on?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.