WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Just chilling

It was a glorious day today. After lunch I took my book (Audrey Magee, The Colony) outside and sat on the bench in front of the house, enjoying the fresh air. There was plenty of bird life about, of which this was the least exciting, although it does have pretty plumage. I'd been hearing the kestrels I saw nearly a month ago for some time, whizzing about overhead, but hadn't seen them. So it was quite exciting when I heard them really close by and spotted them through the leaves on a ledge of the clock tower in the initial stages of producing baby kestrels! Maybe they are nesting there. It could explain why the pigeons that normally inhabit it are roosting grumpily in other locations. I was also pleased that I could tell some curious passers by what they are called in French, having looked it up previously (faucon crécerelle).

Edit: and now I can hear a Scops owl! (petit duc in French)

Well, that was the main event of the day. In the evening I drove to yoga class for the first time in months. I got there at five to seven to find the gates locked and no-one about. So I WhatsApped Ludmila, but her phone wasn't even on the network :( I waited for about 20 minutes and then gave up. It's a bit more than an hour's round trip, and I had confirmed that I was coming today, so I was not best pleased. Still no news from her.

Anyway, it's a lovely evening, so a few nibbles and a glass of wine at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.