Keith B

By keibr

Spring! Flowers!

There are still a few remnants of winter in town. One of them is seen here in my blip, gravel and dust left when the snow has melted. There are even dead leaves, remnants of last autumn. But the excitement for me lies in the flowers, the first I have seen since last summer, pushing up through all that debris from other seasons.
I first met these flowers in Sweden, where I think they are called  scilla, the name coming from the Latin, Scilla luciliae. Apparently the common English name is "Lucile's glory-of-the-snow", or "Bossier's glory-of-the-snow". Bossier was the Swiss botanist who first scientifically described this plant; Lucile was his wife.
Wikipedia describes it as "a spring ephemeral" because it pops up, blooms for a few days, and then disappears until next spring.
I was going to have an extra photo here but Jan had a very similar picture as her blip for the 12 April. A late evening moon over Betty's. If you haven't seen it take a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.