Keith B

By keibr

A Red Deer hind

Seen from our bathroom window. I opened the window after a shower and there was this beastie about 100 m away. It obviously heard the window open and was waggling its ears trying to figure out what was going on, but in the end decided I wasn't dangerous and returned to eating something from the ground where the snow has melted away. Soon after I took this photo a second deer appeared, a bit smaller than this one. I guess it was a yearling, born last spring.
As the two deer moved onto the felled area we drove off to town for an appointment with Karin S at Cafe Sigrid. I had a cranio-sacral treatment in Karin's new treatment room, while Jan checked out the Red Cross shop. Then we all enjoyed a very healthy lunch buffet, followed by a less healthy piece of chocolate toffee cake.
So many of our pictures are taken from home, or walks nearby, so when we are in town I endeavor to get a blip there. However, the red deer won that competition and the town square can be viewed as an extra. Most of the snow has gone from town and a lot of the ice on the sea has also disappeared. Spring definitely seems to have arrived.
Once home again I felt the need to burn off some of that chocolate toffee cake so I spent a couple of hours outside sawing up logs, and some old waste wood, and stacking it all to dry. I couldn't resist clearing away a bit more ice from the path and now we can walk all but two of the 50 m to the parked car on ice-free ground!
As I was beginning to feel really tired and wondering if I should stop, or just do a bit more, the sky opened and it poured with rain. This is April after all. I took that as a message and moved in to sit in front of a fire, read the paper, and do my blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.