Beewriter

By Beewriter

Brief Encounter

It was an awfully, awfully nice day today…and I’m saying that in my best Celia Johnson voice.

Victoria, Val and I went up to Capernwray in Carnforth. It is a diving centre in a quarry with fabulously clear water. You can book to swim there too, which is what we did. It was about 7° in the water and I was in quicker than I anticipated as I slipped on a rock. It was a little daunting knowing there were divers way beneath us. I did see a burst of bubble shoot up at one point so I knew where at least one diver was. I’ve checked on a map of the quarry this evening and I must have swim over a Cessna, the African Queen and an oil rig. I’ve also read there are sturgeon in there and two of them are over six foot long! I’m glad I didn’t know that whilst I was in there.

We stayed in the water for about 25 minutes, it was long enough…brrr. We then went into Carnforth and had lunch at the Brief Encounter Cafe in Carnforth Station. The food was great…I had the best cheese and onion pie ever! There is heritage museum there and all sorts of BE memorabilia. We had to recreate a little moment from the film….we stood like that for ages but no Trevor Howard appeared (story of my life lol).

It was a great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.