Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Farmers' Market Bouquet

There is a woman at the Farmers' Market who has a beautiful selection of ranunculas, and these have lasted really well. The smaller, single flowers are 'butterfly' ranunculas which make a nice contrast in texture to the larger layered ones. I put a few hellebores from our garden to fill out the bottom. We probably won't go to the Farmers' Market tomorrow as rain is predicted, although rain has been predicted almost every weekend for about two months and it hasn't always stopped us. But Dana, who is the driving force, and Jim are on their way to Hawaii as I write...we have Blake here until they return, so he'll probably be appearing in these pages.

Coffee with the usual suspects this morning, though I have changed my standing order to mocha which is probably just as much coffee but tastes like dessert. I seem to be developing something of a sweet tooth and have always loved chocolate so what's not to love about a mocha? I don't know why I didn't think of it sooner...probably because I fancied myself something of a purist when it came to coffee. Another coffee drink often overlooked in the world of coffee drinks is the truly sublime Italian affogato , espresso poured over gelato. 

But I digress. The rest of the day has been one of experimentation. I decided to try some hand mending before undertaking a sashiko project with mixed results. I got a pair of John's jeans hemmed that have been hanging unworn in his closet for months, but my thumb/wrist aren't too happy about it. I tried a new 15 minute Peloton ride with a rather crazy chap called Ryan Dibo. Having mastered getting into the shoes which remain permanently fastened to the pedals it seems important to check out some of the dozens of spin classes and guided rides.

I have been trading notes with Bathurst Blipper 59 who had a knee replacement a few weeks before me. It seems that whereas at first every minute seemed to be taken up with some knee related therapy, as time goes on and more function is regained, it becomes more important to balance the type and intensity of exercise with rest. The knee feels fine but other body parts protest as they adjust. It brings to mind once again the comment that 'everything is connected'. 

That probably holds true for more than just the body....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.