Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Spheres*

I washed our sheets and remade the bed, wondering if I should also wash the recently made quilt. I really should have made it a bit bigger, but was getting pretty tired of it and also running out of some fabrics. Now it's a bit of a faff to fit it over the duvet and I wasn't sure  about shrinkage. it came out fine and didn't shrink significantly, but I was amazed at the amount of dog hair that came off the dryer filter. 

I'm attempting a little sashiko (a Japanese decorative stitching method) . I've lost my quilt making momentum having closed up shop just before Christmas. I've always enjoyed hand sewing and its more portable than the quilt operation which takes a lot of space. I'm all set up for it now but have once again pretty well saturated my available market! I suspect my sore thumb won't like it as much as I do, but we'll see....

We had one last day of warm weather today before the temperature is supposed to drop dramatically and rain is predicted. Caroline was here cleaning, so we decided to take Spike on a walk around Lake Ralphine, a smaller lake which adjoins Spring Lake. John has been taking Spike there during my physical therapy appointments and since I'm now finished with them I wanted to go too. It was lovely and shady and a reasonably level dirt path. For reasons I haven't entirely figured out, when I walk any distance my knee feels fine, but my back doesn't. I got up to 2500 steps today, and by the time we got back to the car my back was feeling better. 

Clearly it was a sort of an uneventful day, but pleasant to be able to get out and enjoy walking with John and Spike...although I hasten to add that they were mostly just to be glimpsed rounding a corner ahead of me. 

* These unusual balloons (I upped the color saturation) were on a newly opened Paper Source shop next to the ATM we stopped by in our local shopping center. It has been bought by a Boston company and is being spruced up and repopulated with new shops to replace all the ones that didn't survive the Covid epidemic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.