Marionb

By Marionb

B and B

Breakfast and Books....two outings in one day..Wow.. For me, that is a big deal...and a good way to spend a rainy day other than my usual response which would be to ensconce myself on the sofa with a good book...

My friend Noreen and I, at least so far, have been keeping our promise to meet regularly for breakfast.. and that is turning out to be a good way to keep in touch, get caught up and plan some more things we could do together...This weekend we are going into Toronto for a concert..which is something I would not have organized for myself...but something Noreen does often. She usually goes on her own, but at one of our breakfasts, she suggested I come along too...This time we planned a coffee morning for friends at my house....so this meeting over Eggs Benedict is turning out to have an unexpected bonus. for our social lives....more outings! 

This afternoon I went up to my friend Sandy's to attend the Tea and Books session at her local library, from which we usually come away with at least one suggestion we like for our book club list. This time there are three we are considering; 

The Bandit Queens, a dark comedy by Panini Shroff
All Systems Red ( Murderbot Diaries, volume 1) sci fi by Martha Wells, apparently to be made into an Apple tv+ series? 
Burn Book: A Tech love Story by Kara Swisher..nonfiction. "A witty, scathing. but fair accounting of the tech industry and its founders who wanted to change the world but broke it instead" 

Burn Book is on my Want to Read list already, so I will suggest it for book club in the fall and see if the others agree... 

One bonus of going to Sandy's library for this book talk is that there is always an art exhibit by local artists in the adjacent gallery..so that was my choice for today's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.