The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

It's bluebell time!

Busy day, from lunchtime onwards. Before that I just read, and hung out a load of washing in the actual sunshine.

V and I went to Brimscombe Mill, but the stool I had spotted for her four days earlier had been sold. She wasn't bothered. We looked at some second hand chairs, and then had lunch, chickpea curry, outside. Very tasty it was, too!

Because she'd mentioned a rosary earlier, and is Catholic, I suggested a trip to Prinknash Abbey, a monastery set in extensive grounds, with a walked garden and a shop/tea room. I worked there for a while in the noughties, and still go walking there sometimes.

We found it sunny, full of spring flowers and birdsong. V was enchanted. I hope she will feel able to visit the grounds and the chapel on her own sometimes. We visited the shop and the tea room, which are so much nicer than they were back in the day. Then, they were gloomy and full of useless 'gift' objects. Now the whole layout has been changed, half the building's been rented out to an auctioneer, and the remaining are has been lightened, brightened, and filled with better food and more tasteful items for sale. Goodbye fridge magnets, hello Prinknash Abbey honey!

We dronye home after that. I put more washing in the machine and went back to my book, to finish it. Called 'Cult Trip: inside the world of coercion and control', by journalist Anke Richter, it's well worth a read of the subject interests you. 

By this time S had got in touch, feeling better, but not having eaten all day. He wanted to thank me for looking after him yesterday. I made some green pea and garlic soup (well blended) and took it round to his flat and watched him 'eat' the soup with soft pita bread. He told me he'd lost 2kg since yesterday. I told him I'd put on 3lb since yesterday(!) and it was never a good idea to weigh oneself daily. Then I walked back home, because Clean Steve was waiting to eat our  supper. I just had time to change our bedding before the food was ready. The washing machine has seen a lot of action today but, on a positive note, I had to turn off the central heating this evening because it was too warm! That's a first for this year. 


 . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.