Reflections

Struggled to choose my blip so:

Main blip - Refections on Lac Lemans at Thonos les Bains
Extras - all at Yvoire, a medieval village

Yvoire was a medieval village and some of the buildings remain from that period but the interiors are now modern shops and restaurants catering for tourists. It was busy and therefore wouldn’t normally be my thing, but somehow it was. What struck me most was the constant birdsong in the air, the flowers growing everywhere and the incredible clear green of the lake water.

In Thonon we walked along the waterfront and then took the funicular up to the floral gardens and pedestrianised streets. The mountain backdrop was jaw dropping. Saved Chateau de Ripaille for another day.

In Yvoire the old port was very pretty and we walked along the shore in woodland fringe with wild blooms such as Cuckoo flowers. The shops sold art, sculpture, pottery, jewellery, glass, leather, soaps, clothes… not the usual tourist tut. The new port was equally pleasant to walk along even if I was too hot in my jeans and long sleeved top. I just didn’t expect such warm weather and didn’t bring any summer clothes! We will definitely take M&D&J there in June so we saved the sensory garden till then. I have high expectations!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.