LesTension

By LesTension

THE END OF WINTER IS NIGH!

Today my neighbor decided to take the snowblower off his tractor and assemble the lawn mower so we all know that Spring is almost here. According to my neighbor, it can snow one more time and he doesn't care.
~
An old Sheboygan County proverb says that it has to snow three times on a robin's tail before Spring arrives.  That has already happened so there'd better not be any more snow!
~
Best in Large.
~
By the way........most of you know that having good neighbors is the best thing ever, especially if you don't.  I DO!  We are brothers from different mothers.  I moved into this neighborhood in 1976.  That's 48 years if I've done the math right. I taught his wife in high school and all of their kids now grown.  Not once in all that time has there been a cross word between us. Half my tools, my chain saw and my roof rake live in his garage.  I have many of his tools in my garage as well. When I have to be at the track on a race weekend and the lawn needs mowing.....he just mows mine along with his.  The same is true if there's a blizzard and the snow needs tending to.  He says I'm not allowed to go out there at my age and shovel snow...he wants me around for a while yet.  In fact, I am not allowed to die unless I get his permission.  He's a mechanical genius....there's nothing he can't fix and make work.  He's the American equivalent of rustycrapp.  He walks around with a small screw driver in his shirt pocket protector and a small spanner in his back pocket.  If I'm mowing lawn and the engine just doesn't "sound right".....he's there with his screwdriver to make a quick adjustment or two to the carburetor until he likes the sound.
~
I pity anyone who isn't his neighbor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.