If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Three wise Owls

We were heading home as early as reasonable but first R was going to help Clickychick to change to a mobile phone contract more suitable for her needs.  This was a change within the same supplier!  What a palaver!  In my innocence I thought it would be a case of "my contract is ending move me to XXX thank you very much, goodby.  Silly me, an hour later things had been sorted.

Knowing I would have few chances to blip I decided on another blip of objects.  R has always had a soft spot for owls and has various examples round the house.  These ones caught my eye.  You can tell I was in a hurry (thinking the phone call would be quick) I didn't even take time to put them in the usual  "see no evil,  hear no evil, speak no evil" order.

Then we set off on the "Road to hell".  Apologies to Chris Rea.  On our way over we had been held up for 30 minutes near Penrith by traffic lights connected to the dualling of the A66.  The internet told us the blockage was still there and as traffic for Glasgow was being directed across the A66 we thought a detour would be best.  We discovered routes to the north were congested by people with the same idea.  No problem we will go across to Shap and up the M6.  Wrong!  A crash had closed the northbound carriageway.   So we had to use the A6 which was nose to tail parked vehicles queueing to get onto the A66 at Penrith 11 miles away.  To cut a long story a little shorter the journey took 8 and a half hours that is 7 hours driving time we had a break at Mainsgill.  So an average speed of about 20 to 25 miles an hour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.