Hev’s Journal

By Hevkk

Rehoming

As mentioned previously, this pond move is necessary, we are not enjoying it but trying hard to make it as stress free as possible. We caught the fish, we caught the newts, we even caught every single pond skater. We rehomed them all in purpose built temporary housing.

I caught the toad and moved him to a lovely little new pad. Water, weed and rock shelter all included. Definitely top of the range new housing.

He reappeared at the near empty pond. I rehoused him again and explained the necessity of the move. He sat in his new pool looking cross and half an hour later reappeared at my feet. I feel terrible by now but I'm trying hard to keep him happy. I moved him again and tried to make it a little more homely for him.

He suddenly appeared again, leaping between my legs and scaring the wits out of me. One last time and this time he seemed to get the message (I have put a plank of wood for him to climb up in the bottom of the empty pond just in case). 

The quicker we get the new pond in, the better. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.