iaint

By iaint

Distance

While I was sitting in a very empty National Stadium yesterday, watching Queen's Park play badly agains a team they ought to have beaten, and all the while getting cold in the wind (and perhaps slightly grumpy) I did have a few "what the f*ck am I doing here?" thoughts.  

It was only 18 months ago I got it into my head to start watching football again after many decades focussed on ice hockey, horse racing and rugby when it came to spectator sport. 

Today my memory was triggered by a distant thought of going to see Fenerbahçe play a home game in Istanbul. Being August it was a 21.30 kick off to let the worst of the day's heat dissipate. It was still like a steam bath. 

The atmosphere was wild, with 42,000 home fans going crazy. We had a mini riot at half time with the riot police on the pitch to make sure the referee could get off it safely. 

Junior loved every minute. 

Then after the game we (Junior, Saadet, her nephew and I) caught the last ferry home (her home, not mine)...

Oh well... maybe Queen's Park will play better this Saturday.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.