As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

Cullison Park

Another great morning run with the crew.

Gerod and I headed to breakfast quickly. We had to be ready to leave for our service projects by 8:00. I boarded a bus to Cullison Park in Shepherdstown, West Virginia. Once we got there, we were given some history of the park and of the giant monument to James Rumsey, the true inventor of the steam engine. In the park, we spread mulch along a trail and picked out invasive species. We all had a great time volunteering together and it was another opportunity to meet some of the other kids at Sc3. We ate our lunch, took this picture, and headed back to NCTC to get cleaned up for the afternoon.

More OST sessions. I went to Governance & Media and Land Ethic. Both were interesting, but not the ones for me.

Dinner with the best.

Tonight, we were privileged enough to listen to Carl Safina talk about his work. He's actually from right here on Long Island, so his presentation had many elements that I was familiar with. After his talk, we all went to the Roosevelt Room to casually ask him questions. I bought his book The View from Lazy Point and he signed it for me!

Just another busy day at Sc3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.